Skip to content

Planes, Trains and BBQ – Tavares, FL

April 14, 2009

So far, its been a great year for our monthly Florida Splash- Ins.  With our great weather and huge number of inland lakes we are surely blessed.  In 15 months of splash-ins I’ve only had to cancel one due to high winds.

Many new people are joining in the once-a-month get-togethers, so if you would like me to add you to the list please email me at jackn6374@aol.com.  If any of you are not receiving emails from me regularly please resend all your details – name, address, phone, email what you fly and where you are located, are you  on amphibs or straight floats? I am in the process of updating my address book & have discovered numerous “old” email addresses, so please bear with me.  I am most definately NOT a whiz with computers.

I will be combining April & May Splash-Ins into one great event at Tavares for their Planes, Trains & BBQ Competition. Those who attended last year were amazed at the scale of this event – with terrific live music, train rides and over 100 BBQ teams competing & many local vendors.  The athmosphere is incomparable & is a memorable day out for the whole family.  The train runs from lakeside at Tavares to Mt Dora & is such a chilled out way to see the locale.  I have managed to talk the city into free lunches for the pilots ( passengers will have to pay) and so this will be an R.S.V.P.  Please, if you plan on attending with your plane, let me know by April 25th.  Apart from needing numbers for lunches, plans have to be made regarding moving of the docks etc., for plane parking.  It does everyone a disservice when people don’t respond by the date requested.

I will be sending out an email with details of this splash-in  in the next couple of weeks.  And if you would like to host an event in your backyard,  please email me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gary Reeves permalink
    July 31, 2009 1:42 am

    Marg,

    I was there. Missed you . Loved the area and the plans to expand the SPA.

    AK is getting windy and foggy. Salmon are here thought.

    Back to Tavares in the fall.

    GR

    heck, I still can not get into the site, but I thought I would try this format.

Leave a Reply

