Skip to content

Otsego Lake Splash-In

June 25, 2009

Ostego1

The 2009 Otsego Lake splash-in was a outstanding success. Randy Rhodes, his wife Nancy, and many family members and friends put forth a lot of effort to make it a premier event and it shows by its longevity and the good times had by all who attend. A heart felt thank you to the Rhodes family and volunteers.

The weather was perfect and you cannot ask for better facilities. A place to ramp out, a lot of beach for float planes, and camping right in the woods next to the beach make this an event to attend. 
 
The contest are run with excellent organization and kept on schedule. They were a lot of fun and a good time was had by all. As usual the target for the bomb drop was the safest place to be. Randy did mention he saw more water rudders left down than any other year and unfortunately I fell in that category. 
 jse_Otsego_2009_E
Friday night brats and hamburgers were served along with beans, slaw, potato salad, drinks and cake. The scouts were on hand to serve breakfast and lunch. 

After the contest and later that evening a dinner is held in the town of Gaylord at a local restaurant, it is a buffet and we all reduced our useful load that night with the quantity of food we consumed. I for one did my share in this area. It is at the dinner where the awards for the events are passed out for the contest winners, as well as the sportsman and outstanding aircraft. There were also awards for newest pilot to get a seaplane rating; I have brag this was won by my wife Sharon, the one that had traveled the farthest in their plane to attend, and the earliest dated seaplane rating in the group. Door prizes were also drawn for, they were numerous and well worth having such as a Dave Clark headset, a PLB, a SPOT, and many others.

If you missed it this year put it on your list for next year, you will not regret it. Here are some pictures of what you missed if you did not attend.

By Bob Stebbins

9 Comments leave one →
  1. David Quam permalink
    August 25, 2009 11:15 pm

    Bob, thanks for the report, makes me sorry that I could not be on hand for the fly-in. Maybe next year.

  2. Bruce Hinds permalink
    March 23, 2010 11:26 pm

    Sounds like fun, where the heck is Ostego Lake.

    • Bob and Sharon Stebbins permalink
      April 7, 2010 9:24 pm

      Bruce,

      I thought I had already replyed to you but it looks like I failed in my attempt so accept my apology.

      Otsego is about 5 miles south of the Gaylord MI airport KGLR.

      Regards Bob

  3. Bob Stebbins permalink
    March 25, 2010 10:39 pm

    Bruce,

    It is just south of Gaylord MI airport, KGLR, about 3 miles. It is a great splash-in.

    • Bob and Sharon Stebbins permalink
      April 26, 2010 9:57 pm

      The dates are the 11,12, and 13th of  June. I will try to get more info out soon.

      Bob

  4. Roy Pinner permalink
    April 26, 2010 3:55 pm

    Would like dates of 2010 Ostego lake splash in—– Thanks Roy Pinner roypinner@gmail.com
    Ph 772-473-7700

  5. Bob Stebbins permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:38 pm

    The dates for Otsego are June 11,12, and 13th. It is a great Splash-in not to miss if you can make it.

  6. Bob Stebbins permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:54 pm

    There is another MI splash-in a week after Otsego at Grand Marias MI on Lake Superior. It is a great location with lots of beautiful scenery, it is located just EAST of Pictured Rocks National Lake Shore Park. We have attended this event several times and will do so this year.

  7. Janna permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:17 pm

    Hello,

    I know this isn’t the best place to write this, but it’s the best I can find at the moment! I was just going through all my books and found a 5th grade yearbook from East Elementary school. I’d been wondering what my 5th grade teacher’s first name was, as I couldn’t remember. And then I found it.. “Sharon! That’s right, Sharon Stebbins.” I specifically remember Mrs. Stebbins as one of my most favorite teachers. She was always so upbeat and fun and paid special attention to me when I needed it. Well anyway, that was 20 years ago now, but I wanted to see if I could find her and say hello and thank you for being a great teacher. Also, I wondered if there might be a chance she remembers me? Anyway, if you get this Mrs. Stebbins, please email me at jannafox@gmail.com! I’d love to hear from you!

    Sincerely,
    Janna (Matson) Fox

    p.s. Looks like you guys are having a ton of fun!

Leave a Reply

